Tortilla Espagnole

Last night, I managed to make the best tortilla espagnole that I’ve ever made. I decided to go with the following proportions, which shall now be my standard. I have found that most restaurants tend to make their tortillas more dry and less eggy than I prefer, so if you are at all familiar with tortilla espagnole, this should give you an idea of what to expect from this recipe.

Tortilla Espagnole

by Gemma Seymour-Amper
8 December 2011

Serves 8

500 g red potatoes, chopped and sliced very thinly (unpeeled)
375 g yellow onion, chopped and sliced very thinly
(about 2 large onions)
400 g whole eggs, scrambled
(about 8 large eggs)
100 g whole milk

10 g sea salt
120 ml extra virgin olive oil
(1/2 c.)

Equipment needed:
Large, covered, non-stick skillet
(6 qt. size)

Sauté potatoes and onion in 80 ml of the olive oil over medium heat, stirring frequently, until fully cooked through. Whisk eggs, milk, and salt in a large bowl, and add potatoes and onions. Combine ingredients thoroughly. Ensure pan is clean of any stuck food before proceeding. Add remaining 40 ml of olive oil to pan, and return egg, potato, and onion mixture to pan, distributing evenly. Cover pan and cook over low heat for about 15 minutes (I used the lowest setting on my largest burner), until eggs are set through. Invert tortilla onto an oiled platter, and slide back into pan. Cover and cook over low heat for an additional 15 minutes. Remove tortilla to platter, and allow to rest 15 minutes. Sprinkle top with a pinch or two of coarse sea salt before serving. Cut into 8 wedges, and serve with aioli, and/or other condiments of your choice (I love my Patatas Bravas sauce).

#food #foodie #yum #omnomnomnom #cooking #cuisine #cucina #recipe #recipes #Spain #España #Spanish #tortilla #tapas

NB: To clarify, the potatoes should be cleaned and chopped/sliced before weighing, and the onions should be peeled and chopped/sliced before weighing. The eggs obviously, are weighed out of the shell. I really need to be a little more consistent in specifying where the weighing should take place. As the recipe reads above, this is the order usually used to denote weighing prior to chopping/peeling. I should have written it “500 g of chopped and thinly sliced red potato” and “375 g chopped and thinly sliced yellow onion” to indicate peeling and chopping first. Since chopping and slicing an onion generally implies peeling it first, it’s usually unnecessary to mention it explicitly when specifying things in this order. Don’t ask me why I’m writing this diatribe instead of just fixing the original language. That would have been shorter, but far less useful and entertaining, don’t you think?

You know you love me…XOXO, Gemma

The Seal of Yin-Haan

