Sauce Mémoire, in Honor of Those Who Have Been Taken from Us

Sauce Mémoire (Sauce Moutarde à la Gemma)

by Gemma Seymour
20 November 2011

Today is the 13th annual Transgender Day of Remembrance. I created this recipe while making dinner tonight for my family. I was unable to attend any vigils or memorials this weekend because I have been suffering from a herniated disc, so I name this recipe in memory of my brothers and sisters who have been taken from us, and who shall never be forgotten.

Makes about 1/3 cup

1 T. dark brown sugar
1 T. Calvados or Laird’s Apple Brandy
2 T. apple cider vinegar
3 T. Colman’s mustard powder
1 T. extra virgin olive oil
1/4 t. sea salt (ground ultra fine)
1/4 t. garlic powder

Mix all ingredients thoroughly, until smooth, and allow to rest for 1 hour.

The Seal of Yin-Haan

