Aloo Matar (Or, My Cousin Has a New Food Blog!)

In honor of my cousin, Jill Seymour, who recently launched her new vegetarian food blog, Vegetariabean, here is my vegan recipe for Aloo Matar…this is dead simple to make and very, very tasty. Don’t forget to check out Jill’s blog for more recipes!

My cousin, Jill Seymour, vegetarian and now, fellow food blogger. No, I'm not setting you up with her...

Aloo Matar (Potato and Green Pea Curry)
by Gemma Seymour
Serves 4-6

1/4 c.    peanut oil
2        medium onions, chopped
1        medium carrot, chopped
4        cloves of garlic, minced
4 T.    curry powder*
hot chile to taste

1        15oz. can of diced tomatoes
4        medium potatoes, cubed
1/2 lb.    frozen baby peas
2 c.    unsalted vegetable stock or water
1 t.    sea salt

Heat a large sauté pan and add peanut oil. Sauté onions and carrot until well-browned. Add garlic and sauté a minute, then add curry powder and hot chile and sauté a couple more minutes. Add tomatoes and sauté another couple of minutes. Add remaining ingredients, stir to combine. Bring to a boil, reduce heat, cover, and simmer until potatoes are cooked, about 20-30 minutes. Check seasoning, correct if necessary, and serve with rice and/or bread of your choice.

* I make my own curry powder from individual spices, so it varies from batch to batch, depending on my mood. No self-respecting Indian cook would use store-bought curry powder instead of individual spices, but here in Usamerica we can claim ignorance if we like and go for the convenience of a pre-mixed curry powder, and no one will ever be the wiser, unless they happen to be familiar with the real deal. This is a surprisingly small number of people in most of the US, so I take the middle road, and assemble my own curry powder from pre-ground spices. I also have been known to use Patak’s cooking sauces from the UK, which are quite good. Don’t expect me to apologize for my laziness! Sometimes, convenience is a Good Thing. The subject of spices for Indian cuisine is far more complex than I can go into here, but I would recommend the excellent best-selling cookbook by Camellia Panjabi, 50 Great Curries of India, for an overview of how it’s really done in the sub-continent.

Namaste…XOXO, Gemma

The Seal of Yin-Haan

