My Life In Queer Thought

A glass of Violette Royale

Allora

A little over two and a half years ago, I began blogging to help me process my thoughts about being a transsexual person. My first efforts made their debut at my former Blogger site, Boy Goggles, but that was fairly short-lived, as in my early days of transition, I hadn’t yet wrapped my mind around exactly how I felt about myself as a woman.

After a hiatus of several months in which I primarily participated in online forum and commentary sites, as well as social networking sites such as Facebook, I started a Tumblr called, Ma Vie en Violette Pensée, the title being an somewhat tongue-in-cheek reference to the title of the (in)famous movie, Ma Vie en Rose, which seems to be a popular touchstone for many trans women. The entire explanation of that name can be found on that site.

I have found Tumblr entertaining, but ultimately dissatisfying as a blogging site, since I have a tendency to use it for purposes which Tumblr’s ethos is ill-fitting, so I have decided to move to a WordPress site to allow for a more coherent structure for posts with a longer form. My Tumblr site will thus be freed for more inane content, and I will be copying some of the more important content to this blog.

Somewhere along the way, I also began working on a static website, which if you would like to view exists in my Dropbox Public Folder for the time being. I may continue work on it, but for the time being, I expect the bulk of my efforts to be focused here, at WordPress.

I hope you enjoy my writings.

In Solidarity and Squalor…XOXO, Gemma

The Seal of Yin-Haan

